why we do things

As I try very hard to get into God’s Word (the Bible) daily, I some days have more time than others. I use to skip around a lot, usually sticking around Psalms or Proverbs since there is so much practical advice in there on how to live your life. Then I had a big idea I wanted to read the Bible cover to cover. Since it isn’t written in chronological order, it isn’t the easiest “book” to read, so it was more of a chore then anything else. If I am being honest, I think I wanted to tell people I had read the entire Bible, more than really seek to understand who God really was by reading it… I recently heard that John is the best book of the Bible to start with, so I thought, ok I am going to go off course here (I mean since when am I a “structured” person anyway) so as I started reading John and reading it slowly to soak it in, instead of reading it so I could “say” I read the entire Bible. SO I may only read a few verses everyday, but I am learning to read slowly, really dig into what God is saying through the Bible. As I read this morning in John 6, I came across verse 29. In the NIV version it says “Jesus said: The work of God is this; to believe in the One He has sent”. Now wait, let’s read that again, slower this time, think about what Jesus is saying….. “The work (service) of God is this; to believe in the One He has sent”. As I have been wondering, even worrying about what God wants me to do for Him, I realize that first before I “do” anything for God, He wants me to believe…. Really believe… not just say I believe. God knows our heart, knows our every thought! So I was curious, what does the word believe even mean…. to TRUST, RELY ON and have FAITH IN.
Now I wondered, what those words really mean…….
To TRUST is to have an assurance and a dependence on something/someone
So then of course I wondered what exactly does assurance mean…. To pledge, guarantee, or be secure in….. are you secure in God?
To RELY is to be dependent on, to have confidence based on experience
I loved this one, because the more I have stepped out to get to know God, seek Him, walk towards Him, trust Him with something specific, the more I have experienced Him and His goodness.
The last one is to have FAITH in which is to have a firm belief in something for which there is no proof.
That is why you hear some call it taking a ‘step of faith’ believing in God initially, believing in something that there is no proof. Well no tangible proof we can see in front of our face at this second, but there is proof.. ask yourself, why do you celebrate Easter? I can’t answer that for each of you, but I celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ, God who became flesh, walked on this earth, did many miracles, taught about His Father in Heaven, died on a cross to be the sacrificial lamb for the sins of the world and then rose from the grave, from the dead 3 days later. I use to celebrate Easter not really understanding the reliance and dependence I was called by Jesus to have in God.
As I was searching for the truth of Jesus, as I was not sure if “this stuff” was all true, even though I did celebrate “it’s” holidays, I started to think, how in the world is it that we are all still talking about and celebrating the birth (Christmas), death (Good Friday) and resurrection (Easter) of a dead carpenter from 2,000 years ago… I mean really… doesn’t that seem odd. My conclusion was, someone had to have truly experienced God to carry it on this long.. There is no other explanation.
Just some thoughts…. To think on….

One thought on “why we do things

  1. Beautiful thoughts Lindsay! I liked to be given a very defined task to do. And knowing that the ‘work’ God wants us to do is to BELIEVE leads me to wonder is believing really work? And it is work. It is not just a mere mental ascent. Jesus will be looking if we have our work done when He returns.
    “I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?”Luke 18:8
    May I ‘work’ everyday, every moment to trust Him and believe in Him.

Leave a Reply

