Do you worry?

Why can’t we stay focused on the day at hand, why do we worry about the days ahead, I mean really what is it in us that causes us to completely miss the day we are in, is it control? Fear?  I often catch myself 6 months down the road in my head or onto the next “thing” that might happen, good or bad…. Maybe it is just me…. But when I look up the word worry in the Webster it says to “choke or strangle”, ”to harass by tearing, biting or snapping especially at the throat”, honestly, I had to look at the word about 3 times, on the top of my Merriam-Webster dictionary app, am I looking at the right word in the dictionary? Did I type in the word “worry”???  I don’t know what I expected it to say, but not that, maybe something like “a condition that all humans struggle with” but it didn’t say that, it said things like “to touch or disturb something repeatedly” and “to assail with rough or aggressive attack or treatment: torment” …..WHAT?

Image

To worry is to torment?  I honestly would have never put those together, again maybe it is just me, but the Bible talks about the “tormentors” and it is always referring that to the enemy, Satan, who comes to kill, steal and destroy (John 10:10) in case you want to check it out yourself….. When I think about my times of extreme worry in life, it surly steals my joy, destroys my peace and kills my hope.  As I write I am still stunned at the definition I found in the good ole Webster for worry.

So by letting myself worry, I am basically letting myself be tormented… ugh…  I am basically tormenting myself… whoa.

I mean I always thought “to worry about someone” was a kind gesture. I am starting to think that isn’t right.  To “strangle or choke” someone, is not a kind gesture. This is as much of a revelation to me as it probably is to anyone of you.

When I googled (just out of curiosity) what the opposite of “worry” was I got two different answers. The top answer on the google search was from “Yahoo Answers” and it said the opposite of worry is “peace and confidence” peace and confidence in WHAT I was wondering….. But it was the TOP answer on Yahoo Answers (choose by the voters it said as the best answers) I wish I could tell you who these voters were, but they don’t release that information.  A few results down I saw one answer that said the opposite of worry is “non- worry” uhm…. That wasn’t really what I was looking for? Non choking and strangling??????”  ok I was getting nowhere…..

Then about 5 results down it said that worry is the opposite of faith, so of course being a “wordy” I looked up the word faith, I mean what does the word faith really mean in good ole Webster, It says an allegiance to duty or person, a fidelity to one’s promises or sincerity of intentions, a belief in something for which there is no proof, complete trust”

So worry is the opposite of faith. Faith meaning to trust. So who do you TRUST? Mom, dad, husband, wife, yourself, your therapist, your pastor even??? Or God Himself. The One who created the Universe? The One who knit you together in your mother’s womb, the One who knows the beginning from the end, the One who sent His only son to pay for OUR sins so we could be forgiven and come into relationship again with God……….

That is a question you have to ask yourself and answer for yourself……..

3 thoughts on “Do you worry?

  1. Pingback: Joy in Suffering! huh? | Putting The Pencil Down

Leave a Reply

