“Love” have you ever googled it?

This was a few years ago, but I was reading in the Bible where it talks about God being Love. Not just God loving us (which He does, very much), but God actually BEING LOVE, it says in 1 John 4:8 God is Love… I thought “what exactly does that mean?”

How can God BE love? It just didn’t register

So I googled it…. (I mean duh…) what else does one do when perplexed about something!

I am not exactly sure what I googled (maybe “ the meaning of LOVE”) I really can’t remember to be honest, but I found this rather strange article in Time Magazine called the “The Science of Romance” it is a little hard to choke down for various reasons, it gets kinda weird at points, but at the end, after they had gone round and round, wrote 4 pages of scientific studies and research with some of the smartest in the country, here is the end of the article…

“But nothing could convince a person in love that there isn’t something more at work–and the fact is, none of us would want to be convinced. That’s a nut science may never fully crack”

I remember sitting in my bed thinking “SHUT UP” they just explained the science behind romance, relationships, even sex but they couldn’t “crack the nut” regarding LOVE and the next thought that came to my mind was “they can’t explain it, because they don’t know It (capital I) they don’t know HIM, they don’t understand that God who created the universe, created You and I, IS LOVE. No wonder they can’t or even think that anyone will crack the nut of “LOVE” …….

I was dumbfounded… DUMBFOUNDED…. SHOCKED, SPEECHLESS (and for those of you that know me, that is something……) I knew that God existed ever since I was 14 years old, even before that but it wasn’t until I was 14 that I experienced God at church camp up at Lake Erie, in Ohio… I remember….. and now at 35 years old, God is teaching me that He first wants me to LOVE HIM… you see this on bumper stickers “Love God, Love People” because Jesus said this is the greatest commandment of all! But do we REALLY know how to LOVE God? I think we tend to go do things for God and love people, because it is easier, people are right here, we can see them, somewhere in life we were loved by someone and so we know how to love people, but do we really know how to love Love Himself?

I don’t know the answer; it is what God is asking me, so I thought I would write about it. I do think it is a good question to ask God for yourself, do I know how to love You and do I know how to receive Your LOVE, receive YOU who is LOVE….. I am not talking about salvation; I am talking about something deeper, more intimate. a real loving relationship!

And do we try to substitute that Love that we should get and receive ONLY from God with people? Marriage is an expression of God’s love towards us; it was never meant to be a replacement!

I don’t know the answer….. I think it’s a good question for all of us..

One thought on ““Love” have you ever googled it?

Leave a Reply

