{Walk Forward}

I wrote a blog about 6 months ago called “Joy in Suffering”!  In the book of James, chapter 1 in the Bible it begins with “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds”.

Let’s face it; we live in a fallen, broken world and we needed a Savior 2,000 years ago as much as we need that same Savior every single day!

We need Him with us through it all, the good and the not so good.

As I recently walked through a very confusing time in my life, painful to say the least, I did everything in my power to hold tight onto Jesus in the mists of it all. I will be honest; I didn’t always do a good job. By God’s grace He put people around me that kept me close to His Truth! The Bible talks about our enemy some refer to him as satan or the devil, his only real power is deception. Basically he is a liar and the truth of the matter is he doesn’t let up with his lies during our dark times. I tend to think the lies alone can cause the dark times to seem even darker because you hear things like: “well that’s it, there is no hope, you will never be happy, you will be sad for the rest of your life” LIAR LIAR LIAR……. He is a liar, but when you are in the middle of the valley, it is hard to recognize the lie.

During that painful and confusing season the only thing I could hear God say to me was “Walk Forward” ahhhh I screamed in my car “WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?”

“REALLY GOD that is all you have for me? In the mist of my hurt and utter confusion I was hoping you would have something a little more concrete to tell me than -Walk Forward”.

The one thing I knew through it all was “I have to hold on tight to the TRUTH of GOD, I KNOW God is for me, I know God has good things, I can’t see straight at the moment, but I KNOW God will work this for good, I just know that is His nature.”

All of the sudden, things started to make sense in a very real way, when I say real, I mean, SHUT UP LORD, THIS IS WHAT YOU WANTED ME TO WALK FORWARD INTO???? AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH (NOTE: THAT SCREAM IS IN THE MOST SHOCKED AND PLEASANTLY SURPRISED WAY EVER)

As the clouds cleared and the sun started to shine on new and exciting opportunities in my life! I was taken back!

These opportunities connected to dreams that had been hidden away for many many years. I honestly had forgotten about them, BUT God didn’t, He was waiting for me for the past 35 years to STOP trying to make everything happen. He wanted to show me He was God. He wanted me to put down the pencil; He wasn’t going to pry it out of my hands.

It was like darkness became light in a matter of weeks, He started presenting opportunities leading in the way of my dream. Putting pieces together that I could have never done myself, I was, well I still am in a bit of shock and AWE of how real God is and HOW much He really does care about each one of us. The Bible says He knows every hair on our head! Now that is AMAZING.

Praise YOU Jesus, because you ARE in control! Although I do think you wait for us to give you control, total control and sometimes that comes out of brokenness. Now I kind of understand a few more things than I use too. I understand that YOU are my JOY, YOU were with me in the dark valley and you led me to the light. All along YOU had these amazing doors open and You were just patiently waiting for me, but I had to keep walking {forward} when I really didn’t feel like it!

WALK FORWARD, He is leading, push past the feelings, the lies that hold you down, PRESS ON, He has good plans. We may never understand the brokenness of our world, of our lives, but we can understand the goodness of our God. WALK FORWARD with Him, trusting Him, trusting His goodness, even if it seems dark, He is leading you to the light where you will rejoice, praise and stand in amazement all for His Glory.

One thought on “{Walk Forward}

  1. Woohooo! girl, I could feel your energy and victory just by reading this post. Walk forward- such profound truth in that. I have come to realize as I walk with the Lord and aim to fulfill the plans He has for me, that this is probably one of the most important things we can do– walk forward! Trust Him and persevere, never give up, move ahead, walk forward! Thanks for this post! Sending love your way 🙂

Leave a Reply

